Vote for me!

I’m running for the position of IB representative for Young DUNE. We’re the grad students, postdocs, and anyone young at heart (without a direct supervisory role over other members, of course). I’m excited to play a role in the collaboration management and to get our social media presence up and running. Here’s my statement:


Hello, Young DUNE. Thank you for considering me as your IB Representative. This is my third year as a postdoc with Indiana University and I’m excited to continue with DUNE over the coming years. The majority of my effort is R&D toward the photon detection system for the single-phase TPC far detector design. DUNE presents a varied and engaging set of challenges and I believe it is an outstanding platform for young researchers to develop a wide range of skills.

It is vital that the future leadership of DUNE works now to help steer the direction of the collaboration. Important issues like publication policies and roles in the upcoming prototype projects will be decided in these meetings. I will keep you informed of the points under discussion, share my opinions, solicit feedback from you on the issues, and ensure your voice is heard when decisions are made. As a member of the Speaker’s Board I will also work to highlight opportunities for talks that would be valuable for our Young DUNE constituents and make sure we have appropriate priority. Finally, the young members of this experiment stand the best chance of engaging the public and building interest in our science. We will be leading the next decade of particle physics and I will put together a crack team of social media experts from our ranks to share our excitement and fun.


Wish me luck!


 

Edit (1/21/16):  Cool. I am the new IB representative for DUNE. I’m also heading up the social media effort, although we have several excited people ready to help out. This’ll be fun.

About dwwhitti

I'm a particle physicist studying long-baseline neutrino interactions and working on next-generation liquid argon neutrino detectors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.